Why You Shouldn’t Eat Your Boogers – Factoid #3

Question: Why do Texans wear pointy-toed cowboy boots? answer at the end of today’s factoid.

Oh no! Gonna vom

Does anything eat facial hair?

There are bugs that will eat just about anything, including facial hair. The American cockroach, Periplaneta americana, is a large, brown, winged cockroach, about 1 1/2 inches (4 cm) long. This cockroach is commonly found in the southern United States in tropical climates, and will often be found living in sewers. It will eat practically anything including leather, book-bindings, glue, flakes of dead skin, and soiled clothing. It has also been known to munch on the eyelashes, eyebrows, fingernails, and even toenails of people while they are asleep.

OMG, I am actually having to choke back the vom right now. Seriously, several things went through my head as I copied this factoid. Huge winged cockroaches like from the horror movies. They’ll eat book-bindings, oh no, not the books! They eat eyelashes and eyebrows Oh no, not the eyelashes and eyebrows again! I wonder if they’ll eat the mites, though… Gawd, I’d rather have the mites! Then the things they do while their victims sleep! I remember hearing stories at the meat packing plant *lots of roaches there, btw!* about people who didn’t clean their earplugs going to the doctor for an earache only to have a baby roach pulled out of their ear. AND children living in filthy conditions who have sores from where the bugs had been nibbling on them as they slept.

hand me a bucket!GAG!!!!!!!!!!

This post is part of the Boogers and Book Bucks Giveaway. Don’t forget to enter at the original post for your official entry. Comments here count as a bonus entry :-D

Answer: So they can kill the cockroaches in the corners! -Dan Rather on the Late Show with David Letterman

15 Responses

  1. I have a feeling this contest is going to make me sick to my stomach (and right now my husband just offered dinner out)!

  2. better a cockroach than a tsetse fly..
    cowboy boots cant help you when it comes to those..

  3. OMG I haven’t ever seen an actual living cockroach … but if I do my screams will be heard for miles!!!!

  4. We used to live in southern Alabama and those suckers are everywhere down there and they can fly! If you went in a wooded area at night and turned on a light, they would scatter all over the place. I would scream and jump up and down.

  5. Okay. I can’t. I can’t even think about cockroaches without getting the hibeegeebees. Anyway, you know what I mean. You just posted this tidbit to make me feel better about the eyebrow mites, didn’t you?

  6. How many more of these gross factoids are there going to be? Yucko. I’d be lying if I said I weren’t enjoying them, though.

    Also just thought I’d let you know that I’ve moved to a new blog because of some trademark issues with the name Readerville. Hope you’ll visit soon!

  7. Ew Ew Ew Gross! I hate seeing cockroaches. That’s so nastyyy.
    haha
    -Lauren

  8. Ewwww. One time I was staying somewhere that didn’t have screens on the windows so they flew in at night. I remember my dad smacking them with his slipper. Pretty glad I didn’t know this information then!!!!

  9. The ONLY time I vacationed in Florida, we were in a hotel room and I happened to look in the sink in the kitchenette. There was one of those HUGE roaches climbing up out of the drain! I was horrified and scared to death that I would bring those home with me in my suitcases. Roaches are the WORST!

  10. well this is very interesting, i like in texas btw and i see some people wearing pointy towed cowboy boots, my dad wears them but that’s just because he’s from zacatecas, mexico and a lot of people in mexico wear them, but they couldn’ve gotten that from others in texas, i don’t really know :)

  11. Ugh!! I’d rather have the mites too!!

  12. Interesting Read! Very detailed blog,thanks for sharing

  13. Excellent Post, thanx for sharing the same.. Will keep on reading the post :D Stumbled your post .. cheers

  14. It a nice site collecting all information about eyebrow & Eyelash Cosmetic.
    Beauty is more important for every women so i m care about my eyes. :lol:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

