Why You Shouldn’t Eat Your Boogers – Factoid #8

Inside everybody’s nose
There lives a sharp-toothed snail.
So if you stick your finger in,
He may bite off your nail.
Stick it farther up inside,
And he may bite your ring off.
Stick it all the way, and he
May bite the whole darn thing off.

by Shel Silverstein from Where the Sidewalk Ends


If you stuck your finger far enough up your nose, could you reach your brain?

No, because an average-shaped human finger would not be able to pass beyond the nasal passages. If a finger (and it would have to be unfeasible small to do so) could make its way through the nasal passages, it would then reach the sinuses. Sunuses are air-filled spaces found behind the nose and cheeks and in the forhead. However, our imaginary finger would then find its route blocked by the cribriform plate, which makes up part of the ethmoid bone in the skull and forms the “ceiling” of your nose.

Clark would benefit from reading today’s factoid:

This post is part of the Boogers and Book Bucks Giveaway. Don’t forget to enter at the original post for your official entry. Comments here count as a bonus entry :-D

6 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh! That video is too gross. I wouldn’t want to read any paper he delivered.

  2. bermudaonion:
    you just lost your membership at video spot!

  3. Interesting…I mean, I knew you couldn’t, but it’s still a nifty little fact to know! :)

  4. Okay I was alright with the bugs, cannibalism and puppy pee – but the inside of a nose grosses me out! I have no idea why but nose interiors give me the heebie jeebies…lol.

  5. I’m more comfortable with this factoid than any of the others. It might be because you started out with a Shel Silverstein poem. I love that poem. I’m missing part of my right ring finger, and I often tell little kids that a sharp-toothed snail bit it off when I was picking my nose.

    It’s somewhat comforting to know that you couldn’t actually poke your own brain. Someone planned ahead with that one. :)

  6. I love that poem – hilar!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

