Booking Through Thursday -Holidays

Booking Through Thursday

It’s a holiday weekend here in the U.S., so let’s keep today’s question simple–What are you reading? Anything special? Any particularly juicy summer reading?

Oh good golly! I have been busy with the Jane-a-thon, and have finished Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, and Mansfield Park. I’m just about cross-eyed from Austen. I had forgotten how different the language is! Austen English and American modern English are at times so different it’s almost like a foreign language. I cannot tell you how many times a character has commented about another by saying, “You look fagged!” meaning “you look tired”, and Lady Bertram’s proclamation, “I am so very stupid!” wasn’t a self-deprecating comment (could that even be possible? She never wanted for self-esteem.), she was just commenting on feeling sleepy. Anyway, I think I’ll take in a few modern reads before returning to Austen-land (I’ve got that book on Mt. TBR, too.) and reading Emma.

I’ve already been cheating on Jane anyway. I’ve been reading Nam Le’s The Boat. I really love it. It’s compelling and sucks you in. Remember the Tom Riddle’s Diary in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets? The boat pulls you into the lives and events in the pages like Riddle’s diary. The Boat is a book of vignette-like short stories about characters from different parts of the world. The first story has enough reality and truth that I wonder if it is a recounting of a real occurrence between Nam and his Ba (father in Vietnamese). I’m dying to throw Jane over so I can dedicate myself to Nam. Yes, he's that good!

I also picked up a book at Waldenbooks Tuesday called Why You Shouldn’t Eat Your Boogers by Fancesca Gould. It’s GROSS. It’s TRIVIA. It’s GROSS TRIVIA! It’s chalk full of nasty facts like various uses for human flesh, ie book covers, furniture and suits (I ate his liver with some favre beans and a nice Chianti *slff-fff-fff-fff*) I’m going back tomorrow and get a second copy to giveaway with the review. It’s a really fun book to have and read to people Bwaa-haa-haa

Yesterday, like several other bloggers, I received an email saying my review for The White Mary by Kira Salak is wanted. So that ARC is top o’ the Mount. I read the introduction today and it sounds really intense. So I’ll be hopping to on that one.

Other books to be read very soon are: Chuck Palahniuk’s Rant and Khaled Housseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns. I will also be reading Dick Gibson’s Rob Grant Trilogy, then offering the set as a giveaway.

Other things worth mentioning: I have added a couple pages and sidebar boxes. Be sure to check out the Giveaways and Contests page, there are a lot of free books to be had! I’ve also posted my inventory of Mt. TBR… feel free to suggest what I should read next. And check out the authors box on to the right. I haven’t got many yet, but check back from time to time as I add more.

Last but not least, don’t forget to enter to win a $20 Borders gift card in My First Ever Giveaway!

19 Responses

  1. You certainly have read and plan to read a lot. Thankyou for your comment on my blog, btw it was me that gave you the link ot ‘Rebecca’, do watch/read it . Well worth it! Have a good weekend.

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog! 🙂

    As for Jane Austen, I’ve only read Pride and Prejudice so far and I really liked it. I can’t wait to read the rest though. And I’ve to agree with you that it too takes me some time to adjust to the language, hehe.

  3. I love the name of your blog!

    I love Jane Austen, such brilliant books although having to study it ruined Emma for me, hate it when that happens at least it wasn’t P&P!

    Did you watch the BBC adaptations?

  4. Wow, you’re going to be busy reading!

  5. I wouldn’t dare add to your mountain of books to read; you sound as if you have quite a tall pile already!

  6. I love your blog! I’ve added you to my Bibliophile list on my sidebar!

  7. Man, that really is a mountain of TBR books!! Congrats on your progess in the Jane-A-Thon!

  8. Good luck with your giant pile of TBRs…it makes me feel like my stack is somewhat more manageable, though it seems to grow every day. I enjoyed A Thousand Splendid Suns but didn’t think it was quite as amazing as I heard that it was and hoped it would be. Will be looking forward to hearing what you think about it.

  9. That is good amount of reading. Do keep it up!

    Bookin through holidays

  10. Austen English and American modern English are at times so different it’s almost like a foreign language.

    I think this is why I had better luck with Austen in audiobook form – the rhythm of the prose makes more sense to me when it goes in through my ears vs. through my eyes, I think.

    Also, you’ve got a ton of books on Mt. TBR that I really enjoyed (Martian Chronicles) has been a favorite since I was 12 or so, and I envy you getting to read Time Traveler’s Wife for the first time), as well as a few I didn’t. Hard to tell you what to move up the stack, though… there’s a lot of good choices, and it’s probably totally dependent on your mood.

  11. I bought The Boat by Nam Le a couple weeks ago after reading positive review after positive review of it. I’m not a big fan of short stories (I always feel like they’re too short) but I’m technically in the Short Story Reading Challenge, so I’m hoping The Boat will jumpstart my reading for that.

    And it must be pretty good if you’re wanting to hold off on Jane to finish it! 😉

  12. Goodness, so much reading to do! Would you willing to part with some of your books and give it to me so I can read it for you? LOL — just kidding!

    Interesting, that you’re reading Nam Le’ The Boat. And it sound like they’re Vietnamese characters? I’m Vietnamese, and thinking maybe I should try to read this one!

    Hope that whatever you are doing for the weekend holiday, that you’re having fun. Happy BTT !

  13. I love that you’re throwing over Jane to read Nam Le! I laughed out loud and that never happens, much as I use “LOL”.

    Your Mt. TBR is impressive, no wonder you are in its shadow. There are some great books on there, though!

  14. OH, the Boat is next for me. I’m really looking forward to it, I might just devour it tonight. 🙂

  15. Lol cheating on Jane? How could you!? Haha, I’ve never read Nam Le’s The Boat. I’ll have to check it out.

  16. Oh I think I’ll pass on the booger book! Do you realize when you review it you’ll be a booger blogger??

    I’m really interested in the Nam Le book, I’ve heard great things about it.

    Have a safe and fun weekend!

  17. I find I can only do about a half of a Jane at a time. If I forced myself to read the whole thing in one go, I’d never get any of them finished. What I love to do is break it up with something really lighthearted, like Bill Seaton’s My Seven Years in Captivity. It’s a really entertaining memoir about his years as PR director of the San Diego Zoo, and makes a great break from the seriousness of reading classics.

  18. Last year was my enormous Austen-palooza, where I read and researched all of her books, in an attempt to get over my fatalistic attitude of disliking Austen. And boy did it work!

    I will definitely be looking forward to more or your comments on Nam Le, I just picked up an ARC copy of the Boat and am looking forward to it.

  19. Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to get out and watch the fireworks! When it started pouring rain at about 4:30, we nixed the idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

