SBG daily ~ Shar-ities

I’ve got the new computer set up and running and got the old one set up in the living room for the kids.  Then ran into a problem.  Apparently, while my cable acct says I get two lines, there’s only one hole on the back of the modem.  So, either I get a splitter and run 2 computers on it, which probably won’t work, or I have to go get a new modem for in there and pay an extra 4 dollars a month.  Nothing’s ever easy.

AND, trying to get back into the habit of everything is dificult, too.  I just remembered, “Oh yeah… My Google Reader!” and I’ve got 156 posts to get through now, not to mention totally spacing the SBG SBG coverdaily yesterday, Booking Through Thursday and Friday Fill-ins.  And I’ve been spaced out with reading.  I’ve only managed to read 1/2 a manga book last week and about 25 pages of Home Repair by Liz Rosenberg.  Well, anyway…

Today’s daily is the last one and I want to give everyone a chance to leave a link to their favorite charities in the comments.  Be they local, national, or international, online or off, what are some of your favorite charities?

Here are a few of mine:

Emmaus Mission Center is very close to my heart.  At one point in time, my girls and I were homeless.  We stayed at the Emmaus shelter for three months while I took the time to save money and get my brains screwed in straight.  If they hadn’t been there, I don’t know where I’d be today.  Besides a shelter, they also have a girls’ home and a boys’ home, a benevolent center, food pantry, Birthright Center, and a Hispanic help center.

FreeRice.comis a fun website where you answer trivia questions and win a  grain of rice per correct answer.  The rice you win will then be donated to help fight starvation around the world.  Sammi, my oldest introduced the site to me, and I can tell you, from experience, that there is a maximum number of correct answers a day, but it takes like 3 or 4 hours to get there.

The Random Acts of Kindness Foundation is a great example of how kind acts can be contagious.  On this site you’ll be able to get ideas of things you can do, as well as report the good deeds you yourself have done.  You can also get together a team.

Feeding America, formerly America’s Second Harvest, uses monetary donations to buy food and get the food to local food banks where it can be distributed to those in need.  Whereas FreeRice.com is global, Feeding America, as the the name implies, is a domestic charity.

I have so many more charity links, but they are on the old computer and I haven’t even started the process of transferring the data yet.  But now you can help out your favorite charities by sharing a link to them so we can all check them out.

4 Responses

  1. I love freerice.com! I play it a lot! I’m also big on charities to help the blind. It’s harder to give these days though – I sometimes think: how can you trust anybody out there to really give the money to the people in need, rather than embezzling it, redecorating their homes, sending it off to the Cayman Islands, etc. Very discouraging!

  2. What about a wireless router? We have three PCs working of that just fine (most of the time unless someone is playing games or doing a major upload).

    What manga are you working through? I also enjoy manga but mostly read it online.

    There is also an award for you here on my blog.

  3. I love Free Rice! During the school year, whenever my kids got done with their assignments, they would hop on the computer and play the vocabulary portion. Yes! Educational, helpful, and fun?! A teacher’s dream come true! :))

  4. We are a non-profit charity which teams up with other non-profits. Essentially, we partner up with great charities and offer their volunteers an opportunity to raise $500.00 or more, and in return they will receive a FREE TANDEM SKYDIVE! Check it out at: http://www.skydive4free.com. I would love it if you have any recommendations on who to contact on your above charities in an effort to partner up with them and raise money for them! Thanks!

Leave a comment