Tuesday Thingers – You Got to Have Friends

Today’s question: LT and RL (real life)- do you have friends in real life that you met through LibraryThing? Have you attended any LT meet-ups in your area? Would you be open to attending meet-ups or is LT strictly an online thing for you?

I neither have RL friends who are on LT (it seems I have very few book-reading friends, and those who are bibliophiles don’t have any desire to join, try as I might), not do I have RL friends whom I met on LT (I don’t think there’s anyone within a 50 mile radius who’s on LT).  It would be really great if there were people who lived close so that we could meet up regularly and have a book club. 

I’d write longer but I have company, see my last Sunday Salon.

8 Responses

  1. I have tons of bibliophile friends, but none of them will convert to LT, either. We should wage a campaign! Enjoy our company…we miss you!

  2. I mean, enjoy *your* company…

  3. I have some friends who have joined LT, but there are also several librarians who don’t like all the wild and wooly tagging and cataloging we do. Their loss, I figure.

    Maybe you should look for a book fair or book convention in your region and try to meet up with some LTers there. It would be fun to browse the fair and then meet up with the book nuts for a bit of lunch or something.

  4. I don’t have RL bibliophile friends. not sure how that happened.

  5. Why is it that bibliophile friends won’t join LT? I’ve only had 2 join from my two book clubs, despite my many comments and sharing about it. I wonder why? Hopefully it’s not a statement against me! LOL

  6. I would love to have more book-minded friends IRL – but most of mine are more tech or movie obssessed.

  7. The clue could be that they are book lovers he said meaningfully

  8. I wish some of my RL friends would join LT. As it is, they just kinda smile and nod when I mention my obsession with it 🙂

Leave a comment