BTT- Time is of the Essence

Booking Through Thursday

1. Do you get to read as much as you WANT to read?

*Laugh!  Snort!  tee-hee!*  Is that a trick question?

Seriously, the one thing I say a LOT is:  I wish I was a speed reader with a photographic memory, that way I could read all the books now, then savor them later.

2. If you had (magically) more time to read–what would you read? Something educational? Classic? Comfort Reading? Escapism? Magazines?

I generally pick my reading material by the mood I’m in.  I read Breaking Dawn because I had to hurry up and finish before my boyfriend did… since I was the one who got him into the series in the first place, it just wouldn’t be right he finished before me 😉  Then I read Nim’s Island because it was short and I could finish it in a couple hours.  Now, I’m starting Neil Gaiman’s Fragile Things, which is apparently a collection of “short fictions and wonders”, and is a YA book… though, I don’t know why.  I’ve also started getting into manga and graphic novels, something I’d always said I wasn’t interested in and didn’t like… and that’s my boyfriend’s influence on my reading habits 😉

As long as it’s a well-written, compelling book with great characters and natural-feeling dialogue, almost any book makes a great escape! 😀

7 Responses

  1. It would be cool to store up reading material in a photographic memory. What if you could read it back to yourself in dreams? Only then I suppose you wouldn’t remember it all.

  2. But even if you could remember it photographically it just wouldn’t be the same.

  3. So boyfriend has a big influence on your reading habits!

  4. Enjoy Fragile Things…I think that’s one of the few Gaiman books I haven’t read yet. He’s written plenty of graphic novels, too, which I’m sure you and your boyfriend could enjoy together. 🙂

  5. “As long as it’s a well-written, compelling book with great characters and natural-feeling dialogue, almost any book makes a great escape!”

    I couldn’t agree more. As I get older, I find myself exploring many different genre’s. Haven’t gotten into Manga, though.

    Robin of mytwoblessings

  6. I choose my books by the mood I’m in, too. My husband’s reading is dictated by what I read. He’s gotten hooked on one of my favorite mystery series that I’m trying not to read too quickly. Fortunately, I got him reading Stephenie Meyer instead!

  7. I love what you said at the end. It’s so true! I’ll read a variety of things as long as it’s a good story and I like the book…I’m trying to read more and more as time goes on. I definitely understand what you mean about wanting more time or a photographic memory to read!

    -Lauren

Leave a Reply

