Night of the Crash-Test Dummies by Gary Larson


Title
:  Night of the Crash-Test Dummies:  A Far Side Collection

Author:  Gary Larson

Illustrator:  Gary Larson

Paperback:  104 pages

Publish Date:  January 1995

Publisher:  Andrews and McMeel

ISBN:  99780836220490

Miscellaneous:  The Far Side is a popular syndicated comic strip.

The Far Side by Gary Larson

I have loved The Far Side since the first time I saw an inky panel in my hometown newspaper’s comic section.  Quirky and often irreverent, Larson drawings almost always make me laugh, and often accompanied by the “swallow my tongue” effect.  The strip’s sense of humor is dead-on me.

The Far Side by Gary Larson

“So! Planning on roaming the neighborhood with some of your buddies today?”

One of my favorite Far Side funnies was of a cat hurdling to the earth, a look of terror on her face, and the caption read “After falling 2000 feet, Fluffy suddenly realized it didn’t matter if she landed on her feet.”

Occasionally Larson makes a political joke in his strip, but usually they are play-on-words, or he connects two totally unrelated concepts (i. e. “Python escapes local zoo!” headline on the newspaper S. White is carrying as she walks up to her house.  Unseen by Miss White is a snake slithering out the back window, seven separate dinner-lumps along its body).  Sometimes the joke jumps right out at you, other times the incongruity dawns on you, and almost always, sooner or later, you laugh.

The Far Side by Gary Larson

Night of the Crash-Test Dummies by Gary Larson is a 104 page collection of humorous comics that’ll take your mind off the harder, more pressing things.  Laughter is a strong medicine, and Dr. Larson provides a great relief 🙂  I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

The Far Side by Gary Larson

**********************************************************

Finding a video to go with this was kind of difficult, the only other one I found was for a Far Side book the person had on Ebay. I don’t really get the joke in it, but according to the videographer this video is based on a Far Side comic pic.

7 Responses

  1. I love the Farside too. 🙂 I will have to get myself a copy of this one! Thanks for the great review.

  2. Being a vegetarian named Jessi, I always loved that last Far Side comic. And the “School for the Gifted” one, where the kid is pushing on the door that says “pull.” Or pulling on the door that says “push.” Either way, funny stuff. 🙂

  3. That last panel reminds of one of the houses we lived in. Our house backed up a field where cows grazed. The first time we grilled out in that house, Carl came in and said the cows were looking at him like they knew what he was doing.

  4. […] Posts Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet GiveawayNight of the Crash-Test Dummies by Gary LarsonVampire Kisses: Blood Relatives vol. 2 by Ellen SchreiberAn Interview With Nam LeThe Book Thief […]

  5. Hello, Very nice site. Universe help us, dont worry man.

  6. “hurtling” not “hurdling”.

  7. I love the Far Side! One of the greatest inspirations for my comics!

    http://zombieswithbazookas.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment