Viral Video – Burger King Bath

Would you like fries with your shake? A soda with your cheeseburger? Some TOE JAM on your Caesar Salad? Say WHAT?!?

As I was watching the 11 o’clock news last night… and again this morning…. and, AGAIN a few minutes ago (other than the Olympics, this seems to be the hottest news going), I was exposed to a sight even I, weird as I am, would have never thought of.

When you retire, some places give you a gold watch (didn’t make the baddie in SPEED happy, he used his to blow up the bus), others give you a clock and a party (my mom got that when she retired from Delco), and some lucky few get a hefty check as a way of saying, “Thanks for all you’ve done” (or, don’t let the door hit’ya where the good Lord split’ya!). I guess the thing to do when leaving Burger King is to take a bath in the sink.

It seems “Mr. Unstable”, as he calls himself, had been thinking about bathing in the dish sink for two months before taking the plunge. Apparently, the stunt was part of his birthday celebration.. some people have cake and presents, others get drunk, but only a select few get a spa treatment in a restaurant sink! I wonder if that “sanitizer” is a good exfoliate…

Scrubbing himself with utensils, he continues his bath even after a manager is informed. The manager simply shook her head and continued counting the cash. When Burger King corporate found out, all those involved, or uninvolved as in the case of the manager, were fired, all the utensils were thrown out, and the sink was sanitized… twice. As an added precaution, all remaining employees were retrained in safe food handling. I can just here the new training video: Always wash your hands whenever you touch your face, and NEVER take a bath in the utility sink.

Okay, HONESTLY, after I’m done laughing like a hyena, this video is disgusting. But not in the way you think, they’ve sanitized everything and my BK is safe. What makes this video disgusting is that someone thought to film the stunt, the manager thought little to nothing of it (would she have been just as indifferent if he was spitting on the sandwiches. a far more likely occurrence), and that we live in a day and age this stupid prank is a national news article that trumps wars, starvation and human suffering. Yeah, it’s weird. Yeah, it’s gross… I wouldn’t wash my dishes in the bathtub. But is it more shocking than the child molesting police officer (local news, here) or what’s happening between Georgia and Russia.

Another thing that makes this gross is: If this hadn’t been video-ed and posted on MySpace, the health inspector and Burger King would have never found out. Everything would have gone on as normal. Yuck! And I’m sure they used those utensils and sink the next morning… They didn’t throw them out and double-bleach the sink until AFTER the video was shown to the corporate and civil authorities.

Eastwood Mailman made the point that this shouldn’t be a shock; these are the very people we trust to make our food in a healthy and sanitary way. And I have to agree with him. I worked in fast food, like most teens, and I KNOW things that happened. That patty that fell on the floor is only dirty if someone sees, or those fries can be redipped to count as the “fresh fries” you asked for, and I KNOW not everyone washes their hands on backline after wiping a booger off their nose… not to mention, GAWD KNOWS where that booger landed!

Man, Weezer should have waited a little bit longer!  So… Who wants a Whopper for supper?

3 Responses

  1. BRAVO!!! This is a very apropos rant. I remember feeling the same way when I saw the video, like, “damn, don’t they have more important things to talk about than whether some single-digit IQ idiot decides to take a bath in a Burger King?” The main thing is, I don’t care, and why should any of the rest of us? Anyone who eats BK’s crappy food is risking cardiovascular disease and I’m pretty sure that the sink was cleaner than the so-called beef that they plop inside their stale buns! Blah!

  2. ICK!

    It’d be nice to think that this kind of disgustingness only happens in fast food ‘restaurants,’ which I avoid like the plague, but I’m afraid the reality is quite different.

    :::Don’t think about it:::Don’t think about it:::Don’t think about it::::

  3. Recently, there was a Domino’s Pizza episode of the same genre. Those idiots not only got fired but are apparently charged with food tampering, which is a fairly serious crime in the U.S.. My 17 yr old boy works at a Dominos in Uxbridge, Canada and is fastidious about hand washing if anyone wants a ‘clean’ pizza!

    p.s. I love your blog – we have much in common.

Leave a comment